

## Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

## **REGULAR MEETING MINUTES**

November 15, 2023, 1:30 P.M. Student Center Conference Room 304 900 N Portland Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73107

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT: John Daniel, Geoff Kingsley, Ken Parker, and

Kathryn Szallar

**COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT**: Dr. Ashlyn Fiegener, Greg Hallman

**OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES:** Office of Educational Quality and Accountability

Staff: Dr. Megan Oftedal, Susan Pinson, Jennifer Gambrell, Jerry Shay, David Kurt, Abby Murphey,

Kristen Hsu

**VISITORS:** Will Milam- Governor's Office

**Call to Order:** Mr. Ken Parker called the meeting to order at 1:52 p.m.

**Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call:** Mr. Parker asked for the roll call to be taken. Four Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

**Welcome from Dr. Megan Oftedal:** Dr. Megan Oftedal, OEQA Executive Director, welcomed everyone to the meeting.

**Approval of Minutes from the August 16 Commission Meeting:** Mr. Parker made a motion to approve the minutes of the August 16, 2023, Commission meeting as submitted. Mr. Daniel seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel: approve Ms. Szallar: approve Mr. Kingsley: approve Mr. Parker: approve

Page 1 of 3

**Discussion and Action: CEQA Retreat times for Wednesday, January 17<sup>th</sup>, 2024**: Dr. Megan Oftedal spoke about different time options for the Wednesday, January 17<sup>th</sup> CEQA retreat. Ms. Szallar made a motion to approve the 9:00 to 4:00 time option. Mr. Daniel seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote.

Mr. Daniel: approve
Mr. Kingsley: approve
Mr. Parker: approve

**Discussion and Action: Commission Meeting Dates for 2024:** Dr. Megan Oftedal introduced the proposed Commission meeting dates for 2024. Mr. Daniel made a motion to approve the 2024 commission meeting dates. Ms. Szallar seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel: approve Ms. Szallar: approve Mr. Kingsley: approve Mr. Parker: approve

**Discussion and Action: PCard transaction approval**: Dr. Megan Oftedal asked the Commission to approve her PCard transactions. Mr. Parker made a motion to approve the transactions. Mr. Daniel seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote.

Mr. Daniel:approveMs. Szallar:approveMr. Kingsley:approveMr. Parker:approve

**Discussion and Action: Adoption of transformation proposal:** Dr. Megan Oftedal proposed adoption of the transformation proposal provided in a 2022 report from Dr. Robert Sommers, Mindplay Education, Ms. Szallar made a motion to adopt the transformation proposal as presented. Mr. Kingsley seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote.

Mr. Daniel: approve
Mr. Kingsley: approve
Mr. Parker: approve

**Program Updates**: Program updates included: data-sharing agreement, Baldrige pilot, the P20 indicator, audit update, FY 24 budget, and CAEP accreditation site visits.

**New Business**: None

The meeting adjourned at 3:15 p.m. The minutes of the November 15, 2023, regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

as submitted	with corrections
on January 17, 2024.	
Signed:	
Mr. Ken Parker	Dr. Megan Oftedal,
CEOA Commissioner	OEOA Executive Director